My Housekeeping Commonplace Book, 6

I’m switching formats on this feature slightly after being inspired by Abbey pointing me to this post on the value of a commonplace book. I was familiar with the term as a longtime reader of Alan Jacob’s tumblr, and historically my own tumblr more or less filled this niche. So I’ll shift these posts just slightly to be a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

What I’m fixing:

  • 4-ingredient Nutella cookies: because I realized I had three jars of Nutella and I didn’t want to move them all. Also, because YOLO.
  • Nothing else. We’re moving in stages and since I am lacking big pots, the rest of my plates, a working oven, etc., I’m pretty limited.

What I’m reading:

  • The anxious parent (First Things) — We used to talk a lot about this in our growth group back in Amherst. How do you balance risk with raising your kids the way you want them to live? The answer, this author suggests, is all about taking the eternal perspective — and particularly timely, as I’ve just started letting Pippin play outside where I can see him while I do chores. I feel proud of him that I can trust him, and proud of me that I can let him stretch his wings a bit, and just scared to death.
  • In Kerry Weber’s Mercy in the City, which we are reading for our small group:

As we stand there [at the Stations of the Cross], our own group is included in that tradition, all of us part of a long line of people in love with, pained by, suffering for, and taking part in the church. There can be a strange beauty in suffering, but, more important, there is beauty in having a community that helps us overcome it, to move forward toward that resurrection.

  • I just plowed through The Lake House in the moments when I was too tired to unpack. I LOVE the atmosphere in Kate Morton’s books, and while I think I liked The Secret Keeper better than this one, I’m still a fan. Who doesn’t like musings like these?

The thought pleased him; Anthony pictured layers of time and usage, yesterday’s ghosts making way for today’s players. Buildings were so much bigger than one man’s life, and wasn’t that a happy thing? It was what he liked most about the woods and fields of Loeanneth. Generations had walked them, worked them, and been buried beneath them.

  • In Margaret Kim Peterson’s Keeping House: A Litany of Everyday Lifeshe insightfully points out the subtext of many women’s housekeeping magazines:

    The message is clear: keeping house is not about mastering a set of complex and worthwhile skills for the sake of doing a good job at something that needs to be done. It is about being perfect without even trying.

Does anyone else need that reminder, like, constantly? I’m mastering a set of complex and worthwhile skills, not striving for perfection. Phew.

 

if I homeschool him and he doesn’t get to ride the schoolbus he will never forgive me

 

Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

2 thoughts on “My Housekeeping Commonplace Book, 6”

  1. Love the idea of a Commonplace Book! Readers must kind of do that naturally, but I like that it can be used for other areas of our lives. And the fact that it doesn’t require commentary! Also, those cookies look scrumptious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

