Commonplace Book

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

What I’m fixing:

  • So, I’ve made this Zucchini-Potato Frittata before, and it’s delicious, but it really struck home this time just how much work it is. It takes forever. Help me make it better:
    • Do you think I could use a bag of frozen hashbrowns in lieu of cutting all those potatoes and onions? The potatoes are the most hateful part — you have to mandoline them, then cook them forever and then they stick to the skillet. Enraging.
    • Or tell me your cheesy, meaty summer squash recipes? I need it not to taste like squash.
  • Because we had someone dairy free for dinner, Copycat Carrabba’s Herb Oil for Dipping Bread. Good, but then, so was the cilantro garlic compound butter I cobbled together for naan the other night.

What I’m reading:

“The world is indeed full of peril, and in it there are many dark places; but still there is much that is fair, and though in all lands love is now mingled with grief, it grows perhaps the greater.” –Haldir of Lothlorien

  • The Sparrowa.k.a. JESUITS IN SPACE. Lots of imaginative ideas, deep characters, and juicy theological questions:

“What sticks in my throat is that God gets the credit but never the blame. I just can’t swallow that kind of theological candy. Either God’s in charge or He’s not.”

Helping with beer bread

Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

3 thoughts on “Commonplace Book”

Leave a Reply

