Commonplace Book, 21

This picture is fancy because it was taken by a more skilled photographer at the baby shower I threw last weekend.

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

What I’m fixing:

  • Daddy brownies. I said I’d post it, so here goes:
1 c butter
4 Tbsp oil (I KNOW. You can use coconut oil if it makes you feel healthier.)
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 c cocoa
2 c sugar
1 c flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 c nuts (optional)
1 c mixed chocolate chips 

First, this is one where it helps to use a metal pan or even aluminum, and to make the brownies a day before. It’s hard to get them to set well enough to cut cleanly and these precautions help. Or else embrace gooey falling apart brownies and serve them with ice cream. Who am I to judge?

So grease your 9 X 13 pan and preheat to 350. In a big pot over low-to-medium heat, combine butter, cocoa and oil, stirring constantly. 
Remove from heat. You can transfer to a bowl at this point but life is is short and death is coming (LOOK AT ALL THAT BUTTER) and why make more dishes for yourself? Add sugar. Cool slightly. Add eggs, beating till well blended. Stir in vanilla, salt and flour. Add nuts and chips. 
Bake 30-35 minutes. The toothpick test doesn’t really work. As the old recipes say so infuriatingly, “Cook until done.”
  • Freezer-Friendly Frittata Sandwiches: because I like to have frozen meals ready to go for J’s lunches. Not because he’s incapable of making himself a sandwich, but because he may actually be in capable of making himself a sandwich AND remembering it all the way to work.
  • Bread Machine Naan. It needed more butter and salt, but frankly, what doesn’t?

What I’m reading:

Teaching them how to design lives brimming with meaning, connection and value is a monumental challenge. We’re still learning how to get there ourselves.

Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

2 thoughts on “Commonplace Book, 21”

  1. I need to try your recipe for brownies because I was craving some super bad the other day and made a cakey to the point of inedible batch that I ended up throwing out.

    Also, those freezer friendly frittata sandwiches look so good! Sometimes I’m a nice wife and make a big batch of a chopped vegetable and grain salad for Joe to take to work all week long, but most of the time he’s on his own stuck making his weird sunflower seed butter and pepper jelly sandwiches.

    Like

    1. Those are distinctly weird sandwiches! John is capable of making his own lunches, I guess, but he’s doing so much to handle the chaos in the mornings already: feeding the kids, changing diapers, taking care of the dog. I’d rather he do those things and we all get to sleep a bit later!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

