Commonplace Book, 20

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.


What I’m fixing:

  • Crispy Asian Brussels Sprouts, which have turned at least one brussels-hater into a brussels sprouts fangirl.
  • Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Potatoes with Bacon. And I used duck fat instead of olive oil because Pippin’s godparents and my godson visiting from New England made it a feast. (Would the youth say “YOLO” here?)
  • Uncle Jack’s Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese. Because what else would you bring to a potluck featuring pot roast? Nothing else, that’s what. Because we all brought mac and cheese, as it turns out, and the college students graciously et it all.
  • Daddy Brownies for a baby shower I’m throwing tomorrow. I don’t have time to type up the recipe at the moment, but it may be the best thing my family makes.

What I’m reading:

Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

Leave a Reply

