Commonplace Book, 14

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

What I’m fixing:

What I’m reading:

  • Housekeeping 1o1: Catholic Style — This blog doesn’t seem to be regularly maintained at the moment, but this and other reads are inspiring, if a bit aspirational for me at this era of my life. Also, the author’s These Beautiful Bones: An Everyday Theology of the Body has been on my very long TBR list for ages. Anyone know if it’s any good?
  • I’m on to the next volume in the series passed to me by my sister-in-law, Crown of MidnightIt’s surprisingly gritty for a YA novel — I’m not sure I’d recommend it widely. But it’s fast-paced and keeps me guessing, and was a nice respite the other day when the A/C men decided to break out the power tools during nap time and I badly needed an escape.
  • The Dog Stars is my current in-cover-of-darkness ebook read when I’m sitting around with my phone nursing the baby in the half light. It’s probably too soon to say if I like it yet, but I remember wanting to read it the summer it was assigned by the local high school for summer reading, and feeling bad about using my librarian super powers to cut in line of the desperate teenagers.
  • In the continuing Summer of the Brothers Karamazov, I’m now slogging through it as an audiobook from LibriVox as I run. (Two labors of duty at once! How virtuous.) The reader annoys the hangfire out of me, but I’ve been known to react hostilely to a variety of people while running, so it may not be his fault. (And when I had a library version of the Brothers K earlier this summer, I didn’t like that reader any better.)

 

  • Oddly beautiful garlic skins. At least, beautiful if you feel about roasted garlic the way I do.

 

Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

4 thoughts on “Commonplace Book, 14”

  1. These Beautiful Bones has been on my TBR reading list for ages too, so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

    I just can’t do Librivox. I’m so particular about voices. Actually, I’m not. I just think only British people should be allowed to record audio books. Which translation of Brothers K do you have? The Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky is far superior to the Constance Garnett one.

    Like

  2. I loved These Beautiful Bones! (And I recently got to meet the author, so that was wonderful. 🙂 She just got married and they are looking for a new house, which I think has a lot to do with why she hasn’t been posting much lately!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

