Commonplace Book, 11

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

What I’m fixing:

  • Pretty much nothing. I’ve been fairly impressively sick, first with a high fever and a slew of other symptoms requiring more antibiotics, and then, after a couple days of fake out, sick again with what appear to (maybe???) be complications from the antibiotics. I’ve been trusting to the creativity of my husband’s culinary skills, the neighborhood Wendy’s, and meals brought over by pitying friends. (LET DISASTER COMPEL YOU, I guess.) We seem to be all on the mend now, though, except possibly Scout.

What I’m reading:

  • Honestly? A lot less Brothers Karamazov and a lot more of the inside of my eyeballs. Also, Grey’s Anatomy on subtitles, which is totally reading. When I first got sick, I raced through Everyone Brave Is Forgivenwhich is set in large part in the London Blitz (someone explain to me why I love that period so much), but it was really only kind of meh. Pretty, in places, but kind of a weirdly drifting narrative.
  • Have y’all read that Americans now spend more at restaurants than on groceries? I think there are a lot of social implications for this.
  • Why I Decided to Stop Writing About My Children. So good. It articulates a little more clearly part of what I was trying to explain in my recent post on blogging about why I’m not a mommy blogger, and makes me further question my own practices on Instagram and other places.
a page from Carson Ellis’s lovely Home to remind me that the messy house is way more interesting
Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

Leave a Reply

