Commonplace Book, 9

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

What I’m fixing:

We’ve been on the road, but I’ve gotten a chance to make a few things. Most recently one of my best childhood friends and I picked blueberries at her mom’s house and made this pie together, an old recipe my mom received as a newlywed, each one-handed with babies, answering Pippin’s incessant questions. It was pretty magical.


What I’m reading:

  • “An Eclectic Home That Tells the Story of Us” [Apartment Therapy] — love this house and its ability to meld sentimental, unhip artifacts with a keen eye for design.
  • The Precious Onebecause I got it for cheap on Kindle and her Love Walked In is one of my all-time favorite feel-good novels although I should be hustling to read…
  • Brothers Karamazovfor Well-Read Mom. I read it my senior year of college, and loved it, and it’s much harder and much different reading it as a (forever interrupted) parent. But SO GOOD:

 Try to love your neighbors actively and tirelessly. The more you succeed in loving, the more you’ll be convinced of the the existence of God and the immortality of your soul. And if you reach complete selflessness in the love of your neighbor, then undoubtedly you will believe, and no doubt will ever be able to enter your soul.

Today Scout is one! For the record, don’t let your baby eat sand. The results, diaper-wise, are pretty harrowing.
Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

Leave a Reply

