My Housekeeping Commonplace Book, 7

unnamed-1
So, some people thought the dining room in the post earlier this week was ours because FB made it the main image. LAWLZ. This is our dining room at presstime.

What is a commonplace book? For me, this is a space where I post interesting links, reflections on what I’m reading, and the newest recipes I’ve been trying out — a collection of miscellaneous micro-posts.

 

What I’m fixing:

  • Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler — a recipe I rediscover every so often and adore. It’s extremely easy and you can use frozen berries still frozen and it tastes like a PopTart made out of real food. Pippin helped me on one rainy afternoon recently when we had a bunch of aging blueberries to dispatch, and it felt so wholesome and healing to be together in the kitchen, getting along, after a week of threeiest three-year-old behavior. And then after dinner he eagerly tried a bite and had to claw it out of his mouth in rueful disgust. So there you go. Katherine approved, Pippin rejected.

Not the most stylized kitchen countertop, I’ll admit.


What I’ve been reading:

  • Mixed reviews of Eligible, Curtis Sittenfeld’s updated take on Pride and Prejudice. This one is favorable, and I love Curtis Sittenfeld (especially Sisterland), so I’m hopeful. So many of the Austen modernizations overlook the strong morality of Austen, just emphasizing the romance or satire and there’s a lot to be said for Austen being interested in doing the right thing.
  • My friend Haley’s piece on audiobooks for little kids. I’m thinking about trying this for Pippin, especially because nap time continues to be a huuuuuge source of stress and anxiety for both of us, just as it’s been from the get-go. (Fortunately, Scout is a dream of a napper, or else I’d have to call it quits.)
  • Why are Southern porch ceilings blue? (Ours is.) A few theories trotted out here.
  • Frankenstein, for Well-Read Mom. Chalk this one up to one of so many books that’s a lot harder to read as a parent. Victor is such a diva!

 

Author: Katherine Grimm Bowers

Babies. Books. Fledgling housewifery. Once and future librarian. Catholic. Always thinking about chocolate ice cream.

3 thoughts on “My Housekeeping Commonplace Book, 7”

Leave a Reply

